Undiluted Type

Priestess. Writer. Geek.

Waaaaaaay back in July I participated in a collaboration project with Kyle Cassidy (zee ringleader) and roughly 22 other photographers from around the country. As a gallery in Mississippi will be displaying the project sometime this winter, I’m going back in time to show this post from a now defunct blog. Enjoy!

JULY 7, 2009

A few weeks ago I posted a vague post about how excited I was about a project I was working on. How I had a tearful, happy moment of, “Holy crap, maybe I CAN do this!” The time has come to where it’s okay to reveal it.

That moment is this: IN THE HIVE.

Kyle Cassidy (photographer, writer, creative enabler) sent a shout out back in June for volunteers. He had an idea and wanted to execute it throughout the United States and Canada. Well, you can read about the unveiling details at his LiveJournal HERE.

Over two days I took roughly a dozen photos whenever my cell phone vibrated with a message. Whatever was in front of me, I went clickenzee. Afterwards, Kyle had to sift through a total 266 shots from 22 other photographers to pick out ones he wanted showcased on the site, which ended up being about 83. Honestly, I figured maybe one or two of mine would make the cut (Kyle was adamant that ALL the photographers would be represented). To my astonishment as I perused The Hive’s portfolio, I discovered Kyle picked five of mine. Five. He thought 5 of my photos had the right composition and truly captured the Hive goal he was striving for. *soft squee*

To me, this was a big deal. Over the past year I have admired this man’s work and his artistic opinion means quite a deal to me. Think of it this way: it would be equivalent to Neil Gaiman saying your short story was splendid and may he use it in his anthology?

Yeah. Like that. 🙂

If you wish to see the portfolio, feel free to visit the Hive site. My photos are the ones from Portland, OR.

When Kyle put out the call, I was hesitant and extremely doubtful. Did I have potential? Did I have the talent to pull this off? I’ve never done anything like this before and figured it was time to step out of my comfort zone and share with the world with what I see. Kyle has shown me I do have potential. I simply need to believe in myself.

I will forever be grateful.

Leave a Reply

