Undiluted Type

Priestess. Writer. Geek.

Today was a fun one. I got to spend all afternoon with Innowen (what a treat!) as we perused through a bookstore on 23rd Avenue (aka “Trendy Third”). This particular bookstore was of the metaphysical bent, so there were many books, candles, journals, incense, and cds to pillage. In the end, we each left with one treasure. I grabbed, “The Red Book” because the voice it’s written in made me laugh in a good way.

The weather decided to be cooperative with minimal drizzle, so we had some Mexican food for lunch, walked it off a bit while we window shopped, and then Innowen declared, “Cuppycakes!!” With the swiftness of a master, she whipped out her iPhone, did some fancy thumb dancing, and in seconds announced, “Just down on Flanders and 17th.” And off we went.


19/365

We each had two “dots” (mini-cuppycakes) and by the gods were they pretty and RICH. As we proceeded back to Trendy Third, I marveled at the neighborhood’s synagogue and Innowen found “Daedalus”, a new/used bookstore where we yet again we drooled over the treasures. Eventually we found the Tibetan/Hindu store I was searching for and I was able to procure a cute, little Ganesha for my shrine at home.

By 3pm we were too pooped to pop, so we made Starbux our home base as Innowen had plans to meet up with some writerly friends for a write-in that evening. “Would you like to join us?” Through a yawn, I accepted the invite and I’m glad I did. The ladies were a hoot and as Innowen and I were a bit loopy from the walking, strange things tumbled out of mouths. “Elitist M&M’s” and “those damn gay Skittles” (totally taken out of context it sounds horrible, but in context it was not disparaging — we love our gay community).

Eventually my tiredness won out and I headed home. It was a damn good day.

Leave a Reply

