Undiluted Type

Priestess. Writer. Geek.

I know I’ve been embarrassingly absent from this blog, but I have a good excuse. Life has decided to write me a note to excuse my absence because it feels responsible; it decided to get in my way for the past two months.

Due to circumstances beyond my control (isn’t that always the case?), I had to focus on what I COULD control in my life and take action. This meant finding a new place to live, plunking down a hefty deposit (I cried a bit when the money went bye-bye), packing all the things, and then moving all the things.

Please make note: my friends are AWESOME. Now I’m sure you have awesome friends too. Probably rockin’ ones at that. But allow me to gush and praise and brag that my friends are awesomely-awesome. On DAY THAT ALL THINGS MOVED, we were able to load the truck, drive the truck, and unload the truck in under 3 hours. I had estimated twice that long and when the announcement was made that “The truck is empty!”, I was bestowing gratitude-filled beers and burgers at 11AM.

Moving is a stressful, time-sucking, energy-depleting event in one’s Life.

You know what else is?

Death.

Two weeks after moving back into a place of my own, my very dear, very best friend and roommate died. It was unexpected and harrowing. How unexpected? I was the one who found his body on a chilly Halloween afternoon.

Needless to say it has taken a lot out of me, but I’m still standing. I reiterate again how awesome my friends, family, and even co-workers are. So much love, support, and offers of distraction flooded my emails and texts. I am filled with undiluted blessings and I have no idea how I got to be so fucking lucky.

As Life is very particular about maintaining balance, shortly after I returned to work from a week of mourning and trying to deal with my friend’s estate, I was rewarded with a promotion and a much needed (and deserved, if I do say so myself) raise. It’s not to the point where I can run out and get a shiny new MacBook Air, but it will definitely take the financial edge off.

Time has been non-existent. Fluid and speedy. Without even knowing it, it’s all of a sudden November and for the past five years that has meant….

I am going for my sixth NaNoWriMo and sixth win. Suffice to say it has been difficult. Technically I should be over 20,000 words right now and I am at 2K. Motivation and inspiration are lacking this year, but I know my friend would not want his death to be the cause of breaking my winning streak. He always supported my writing; this year will be no different. He’d want me to persevere, not wallow.

So, no wallowing.

In the past I would write every other day and finish in a total of two weeks. I’m not worried, I have time. Today I’ll be meeting with my writing group to where we shall WRITE ALL THE WORDS. They are spectacular cheerleaders and I will cross that finish line.

Write now.

Leave a Reply

