Undiluted Type

Priestess. Writer. Geek.

Greetings fellow Blog Hoppers!  If you happened your way upon Undiluted Type via Kirra Antrobus’ blog Thoughtful, WELCOME!!

My name is Ember and this is my lucky 7th year in participating in National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo for short).  One might think this would become old hat for a seasoned NaNo’er, but even I run into moments of writers block, plot bunnies of DOOM and shoving my inner editor into a steamertrunk.

The following will give you an idea of what hairy-brained story I’m up to this year.

What is the working title of your book? Coffin Confidential

Where did the idea come from for the book? Interestingly enough, the basic premise came from a dream I had a few months back. Then after procrastinating for weeks, I finally started brain dumping story ideas during the last week of October and this was the one I had flushed out with the most ideas.

What genre does your book fall under? Supernatural / Urban Fantasy.

What actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition? My Main Character looks like a modern version of Veronica Lake and the secondary character is more Sean Connery from his “Dr. No” days. Unfortunately, I don’t have any current actors I could see playing my characters.

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book? Mona “Ouija” Spencer is just your average pet detective by day and bounty hunter by moonlight, who gets hired by Death to find 500 lost souls. It also doesn’t help she’s already dead and really doesn’t get along with the other ghosts in town. (Yeah, that was two sentences.)

Will your book be self-published or represented by agency? Honestly, if this story pans out to where it goes beyond the Zero Draft (1st draft is what happens after the first round of editing with a machete), I would prefer to be published by Tor or Orbit.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript? Zero draft takes anywhere from 2-3 weeks for me during NaNoWriMo. I have yet to revisit my previous writings and give them another pass with editing.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre? I am a fan of geek proportions of Seanan McGuire (aka Mira Grant), Patricia Briggs and Neil Gaiman. They bring wit and silliness into the most out-of-the-world circumstances, as well as, familiar humanity. I’d like to believe Seanan and I have similar writing styles; she’s just 1000x better at it.

Who or what inspired you to write this book? Last year I broke my NaNoWriMo winning streak due to the death of a very dear friend. It was unexpected and I was charged with handling his estate. So Death has been on the brain for the past year and I thought I would embrace the concept of Death and have it inspire my creativity. Which is why my main character is a ghost having to deal with office expenses, disgruntled clients and a living family who has moved into her once abandoned house. I thought a haunting from the point of view of the ghost would be entertaining, as well as, having her work with Death who is actually not a bad guy.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest? An undertaker bartender who serves spirits to the dead, a 15-year old punk Reaper who is whipsmart and Death who enjoys greasy junk food. What’s not to love?

Leave a Reply

