Undiluted Type

Priestess. Writer. Geek.

Holy crap.  It’s been a month since NaNo ended and I never updated this blog with the outcome.  I will perform a self-flogging later, but in the meantime, let me breakdown the last week of November.

Screen shot 2012-11-26 at 8.54.13 AM

More accurately, I somehow managed to don my Wonder Woman gauntlets and pound out 20,000 words in under 3 days.  One day I wrote 10,111 words in 9 hours.  Oh yeah.

Getting to the home stretch was difficult.  It always is. I gave myself a deadline of Tuesday, November 27th, 6pm.  My motivation was intense.  I had the entire week after Thanksgiving off and I was going to be damned if there stressing about NaNo during MY vacation.

Cue my frame of mind…..

Screen shot 2012-11-29 at 11.52.03 AM

I crossed the 50,304 line and finished my story at exactly 6:15pm.  Although I was alone in my living room, I cranked up AC/DC’s “Back in Black” and there was much air guitaring.  Jameson looked at me like cats do and I continued to celebrate like a silly girl.  I popped open the bottle of champagne I reserved for the occasion and did a few victory laps around my apartment.

I did it.  I fucking did it.  After losing last year, I was balls-to-the-wall determined not to be defeated again.  There were tears and laughter and much sipping of the bubbly.  The next three hours were spent on Facebook and the NaNo page celebrating and rah-rahing other NaNo’ers to their victory dances.

Official badge makes it official.

Winner-180x180

Leave a Reply

